Thirteen Things my Five-Year-Old Really Should have Thought Through

I’m told that children have to learn a certain amount by experience, and that you can’t tell them everything. Somehow this is part of the learning experience, and is healthy and good.

I find myself doubting this when I see my small boy stuck, for example, in a cardboard box he decided to sit on the edge of. It doesn’t look the most educational position to me. But I’m doing my bit for parenting. I try to take photographs whilst I let him learn.

So here are the ten times since turning five that R really should have thought things through:

  1. The time when he piled up eight sofa cushions on top of the sofa, climbed on them, and ended up hanging off the curtain rail, which came out of the wall on one end.
  2. Before squeezing “glue” all over a piece of wrapping paper, and then discovering that it was actually white chocolate icing.
  3. That time when he poured himself a really big glass of milk, carried it to the carpet, saw the lego, forgot the milk and kicked the glass over literally ten seconds later.
  4. When he said “I never want to play with you again, EVER” – to the one person he lives with all the time…1795354_735734149851275_4171096334895559046_o
  5. The time he decided he didn’t want to eat a tuna sandwich and hid it down the edge of the sofa cushion, and then took the cushion off a week later to build a fort and got mouldy tuna sandwich all over his hair.
  6. Before he carefully drew his own picture, watched his older friend draw her own careful one, and then scribbled all over hers, laughing.
  7. The time he shredded all the remaining loo roll and chucked it down the loo WHILST doing a poo.
  8. When he tried to balance his small chair on his skateboard and then sit on it.
  9. Before drawing a cylindrical rocket with two circular boosters on the bottom.
  10. Before forgetting he was two years older than last time and laboriously squeezing himself into this car…Rufus squeezed into small car
  11. Before jumping out at me SO MANY TIMES in one day that I did it back and made him cry.
  12. The time he filled the bath up to about an inch off the top, got out, and then stood on the edge and jumped in.
  13. When he actually let me count to three before getting into bed.

If you enjoyed this post, don’t forget to like and follow! You may also be interested in The Eight Most Embarrasssing Things my Three-Year-Old has Said; The Thirty Things Most Likely to Give Me Parent Rage; How Not to Travel With a Four-Year-Old and The 39 Things Guaranteed to Cause a Four-year-old Melt-Down. 

Leave a Reply

